Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

8

April 26, 2013 by Renee

Chocolate Cupcakes with Bacon Cream Cheese Icing

The way I see it, the four food groups need an overhaul. I know they had that pyramid thing for a while, but I like to keep things classic. How about the four food groups of awesome? Henceforth they shall be: Bacon, Cheese, Sugar, and Liquor!!!!!

Oh, and carbs because duh, how would you live?

I combined two of the essential food groups into one ridiculous cupcake. I mean, you haven’t been able to buy yourself any new clothes in months. You need cupcakes to keep you going. You deserve it.

Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

I’m not so up on the trends, usually because I can’t afford them. It took a while, but I finally put bacon in a dessert, and it was super awesome. I know I’m not the last one on the planet to give this a try. Let me urge you not to waste another day.

The cupcakes are sticky and rich, with a hint of spice. And the cream cheese icing has bits of bacon throughout. Bacon! What else do I have to say?

This cupcake isn’t overpoweringly bacony. It’s not like putting your breakfast on top of a cake. The bacon just adds an essential chewy, salty, smoky factor that pretty much makes you want to swoon.

Bacon Irish Coffee

You might also like to put some Bailey’s and bacon vodka into your favorite coffee to help wash it down. Bacon Irish Coffee can’t possibly be a bad idea.

Put bacon on your cupcakes. Do it now! You’ll thank me later.

Chocolate Cupcakes with Bacon Cream Cheese Icing
recipe from My Year in Meals by Rachael Ray

for the cupcakes:

makes 12-15 (if you try to be logical and only make 12, they’ll overflow a bit)

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
4 Tbsp recently boiled water
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 cup flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 shakes of ground cloves
2 eggs
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar

  • Preheat the oven to 350 and put your favorite cupcake papers in your pan.
  • In a small bowl, stir together the cocoa powder and hot water to form a thick paste. Then slowly whisk in the buttermilk.
  • In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, ground cloves, and both sugars.
  • In a larger bowl beat the eggs for about a minute. Mix in half the cocoa mixture, then half the flour mixture. Then repeat the process with the rest of the cocoa and flour. Stir until just combined.
  • Fill the cups about halfway, then bake for about 18 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  • Let cool completely.

for the frosting:

1/2 stick (2 ounces) butter, softened
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
2 1/4 cups powdered sugar
2 Tbsp milk
6 slices bacon, cooked until crisp and chopped to small pieces (save one piece per cupcake to decorate, if you so choose)

  • With a mixer, beat the butter and cream cheese together until smooth.
  • Add the sugar, vanilla, and milk, and mix until smooth. It will be halfway between a set frosting and a glaze.
  • Stir in the bacon.
  • Spoon the frosting onto your cupcakes. It will drip a bit. Garnish with bacon pieces then store in the refrigerator.

Check us out on the Plaid and Paisley Kitchen link party.

8 thoughts on “Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

  1. Jenn says:

    My husband would totally love this recipe!

  2. […] choosing something without bacon for dinner.) The red velvet was my personal favorite. I thought my bacon cupcake was definitely better than […]

  3. My fiance would love these. He’s eating bacon right now for breakfast. And he loves chocolate. Perfect!

  4. These are really cool! I feel more and more that I need to try bacon in a sweet combination, it looks so good!

  5. Your cupcakes sound crazy, in a good way! I’ve never been brave enough to try bacon in my desserts, but I think I need to give it a go! I’m totally with you on the four food group of awesome too.

    • Renee says:

      Try them, and let me know how it goes. I felt the same way, now I’m hooked and thinking of how I can put bacon in EVERY dessert.

  6. BruCrew Life says:

    I want to face plant into that frosting!!! Yum!!!

Share your awesome thoughts.

